ILS Distinguished Alumni Award

Prior to 1996, the award was known as the Louise Maxwell Award.

See the list of past award recipients.


The purpose of the Distinguished Alumni Award is to recognize an alumnus/a who is making, or has made, an outstanding contribution to the Library Science/Information Science profession. For the purpose of judging nominations, an outstanding contribution should include evidence of one or more of the following:

  • exceptional skills as information professional.
  • noteworthy contributions in Library/Information Science to society at large.
  • significant influence on the candidate's place of employment, community, and profession.


  • Only living alumni of the Indiana University information science or library science programs are eligible. For purposes of definition, an alumnus is any person who shall have received at least one degree (M.L.S., M.I.S., Ph.D., or Post-Master's Specialist Degree) from the Indiana University Department of Information and Library Science or its predecessor.
  • The nominee does not have to be a member of the ILS Alumni Association.


  • The award shall consist of a certificate presented to the recipient.
  • The award will be presented annually at the IU alumni reception during the American Library Association Conference (usually late June).
  • See the list of past award recipients.


  • Nominations may be submitted by 1) graduates of any program accredited by the American Library Association, 2) any current or former member of the ILS faculty, 3) anyone employed at the nominee's current place of employment. Letters of support (see below) may be written by any individual familiar with the work of the nominee.
  • All nominations must include the following:
    • A nomination statement from the person placing the name in nomination, which details the nominee's qualifications as a Distinguished Alumnis.
    • A biographical statement (or résumé), providing basic information such as: name, address, employment history, and all ILS degrees and dates.
    • The names and address of three (3) individuals who have agreed to submit letters of support (to be received by the deadline date) in favor of the nomination. (Note: these individuals do not need to meet the qualifications of the person placing the name in nomination.)
  • All paperwork must be postmarked, or electronically transmitted, by April 1.
  • All nominations for the award shall continue in force for the following two years. After that time, they may be resubmitted.
  • If, in the opinion of either the Selection Committee or the SoIC AA Executive Board, no worthy candidate is nominated in a given year, the award will not be presented that year.

Nominations can be sent to

Ree Palmer
Associate Director of Alumni Relations & Stewardship
Informatics East, 110A
919 E. 10th Street
Bloomington, IN 47408
Nominations may also be submitted by e-mail at:palmeree@iu.edu.
If you have questions please call her at 812-856-5909.