Information & Library Science

Explore all options. Resources are gathered here to help you fund your graduate education.  Student loans are often a necessity. 

Student employment is encouraged. Part time jobs can help enhance résumés. There are a number of jobs on campus and in Bloomington that will both complement your résumé, and help with your expenses. Some student jobs include fee remission.

ILS FINANCIAL AID  for Master's and Specialist Degree students

New students must have a completed admissions application on file by January 1 to be considered. No additional ILS financial aid application form is needed.

ILS Merit Scholar Packages

The Department of Information and Library Science actively seeks to find solutions to support student scholarships.  Students who have completed applications by the January 1 deadline each year will be considered for a variety of scholarship resources managed by the department.  This can include packages with tuition fee remission, hourly jobs, and one time awards.  Students should check on tax issues with any award.


Students will be notified of ILS Financial Aid decisions by the end of April. ILS is a part of the Council of Graduate Schools. An agreement with this Council is that "Students are under no obligation to respond to offers of financial support prior to April 15." This agreement is to help you know your options, so that you can make the best decision.

ILS Fellowship Awards

ILS offers annual fellowship awards. Many of these are possible through the generous gifts of alumni and other ILS supporters. These are often established in memory or in honor of the person for which the award is named. Students who have completed applications by the January 1 deadline will be considered. Faculty may nominate students for some awards. Award decisions will be made by the end of April each year.

  • Examples of fellowship awards

    Gerald Bernbom Fellowship for the Study of Knowledge Management - A $1,500 annual award to graduate students in ILS or Informatics, interested in the concept of information as an ecosystem, with preference given to students interested in continuing Gerald Bernbom’s areas of study:

    • Knowledge management of scientific and scholarly communication.
    • A focus on knowledge and information rather than technology.
    • Interdisciplinary research on the entire life-cycle of the information ecosystem.
    • The sustainability, security, use, and preservation of information.

    Doctoral students will submit an essay on one of the four areas of study described above, accompanied by three letters of reference.

    At the time of his death, Gerry Bernbom was Director of Research and Academic Computing for UITS, and Special Assistant, Office of the Vice President for Information Technology, at IU.  Less visible than his titles was his skill collaborating across disciplines for the common good.  Part poet, part philosopher, part visionary technologist, he coordinated IU’s first IT Strategic Plan and served in many capacities in making the thoughtful application of IT an essential part of the University and its curriculum.

    May Copeland Fellowship - two equal awards of approximately $6000 each, for incoming students returning to school after obtaining at least one year of work experience, with an excellent academic record, and who wish to pursue an MLS degree.

    Charles A. and Charles H. Davis Fellowship in Scientific Information - $4,500 annual award to assist graduate students in the study of scientific information. Charles A. Davis headed the Indiana State Police Headquarters Laboratory, and later that agency's Criminal Investigation Division. He was a pioneer in forensic science. Charles H. Davis has three degrees from I.U., and studied postgraduate chemistry at the University of Munich on a fellowship awarded by the German government. He was an editor at Chemical Abstracts; served as an academic dean in Canada and in Illinois; and is currently a senior fellow in library and information science here at I.U.

    Janice Kilner Egloff Scholarship - $800 annual award for a non-resident student. Janice Egloff was a 1978 MLS graduate from I.U.

    Fry Family Scholarship - $500 annual award for students studying within the IUB ILS; student(s) must demonstrate financial need; scholarship will assist in payment of tuition, books and other required education expenses. The account was established by the five sons of Bernard and June Fry. Dr. Fry was appointed Dean of the IU Graduate Library School (ILS), 1967-1980.

    Dennis K. Grumling Award - $300 annual award to an ILS student who has excelled in cataloging and demonstrates promise of success in the profession. Dennis Grumling was a 1984 MLS graduate from I.U.

    Frances Eleanor Hammitt Scholarship - $1,800 annual award.

    BJ Kish Irvine Graduate Scholarship in Art Librarianship - $925 annual award for students in Fine Arts Librarianship, with minimum 3.3 GPA and demonstrate potential to be leaders in the field. This award was established by B.J. Kish Irvine to mark her years of dedication and service as a faculty member and Fine Arts Librarian at IU.

    Keith C. Kuhn Tri-State Scholarship - $7500 annual award to a student from the Tri-State area (Southeast Indiana, Southwest Ohio, and Northern Kentucky). Keith was a 1976 MLS graduate; he also served as President of the ILS Alumni Board for several years.

    Oliver Graduate Scholarship - $950 annual award for ILS students with a record of academic excellence as demonstrated with a minimum 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Preference is given to returning students and/or students with interest in public school librarianship.

    Packwood Graduate Scholarship - $600 annual award for students enrolled for MLS degree at IUB, with preference for in-state student(s); established by ILS staff member Sarah P. Burton in memory of her parents.

    Harold and Marjorie Sharp Scholarship - $1,500 annual award with preference for students pursuing special library career paths.

    Clayton A. Shepherd Information Science and Technology Scholarship - $2,200 annual award for a student whose major emphasis is information science and technology. The award was established in memory of Associate Professor Shepherd who had been a member of the ILS faculty for 13 years.

    Charles B. Shaw Fellowship - $5000 annual award with preference to students interested in academic librarianship. Charles B. Shaw compiled the List of Books for College Libraries (the "Shaw List") and its supplements in the 1930s. Beginning in 1943, he was the President of ACRL (the Association of College and Research Libraries). An ardent amateur printer, he founded the Off-hand Press at his home in Swarthmore, Pennsylvania.

    Evelyn Ray Sickels Award - $500 annual award for a student with exceptional potential in the field of youth services librarianship.

    Spectrum Initiative Matching Scholarship - ILS will award one scholarship worth 6 credit hours of eligible tuition remission to an ALA Spectrum Scholarship recipient who comes to Indiana University.

    H.W. Wilson Scholarships - $3,000 annual award(s) available due to the generosity of the H.W. Wilson Foundation.

    Yuan T'ung Li Memorial Fellowship - $2000 annual award to a student of Chinese ancestry. This award was established as a memorial to the late Yuan T'ung -Li, Director of the National Library of Beijing, who was associated with the Library of Congress for much of his later life.