Pat Steele, 2007 Beta Phi Mu Chi Chapter Service Award

Campus Scenes
Date:Friday, April 27
Time:10:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Place:Wells Library, SLIS, Room 030

The winner of the 2007 Beta Phi Mu Chi Chapter Service Award is Patricia Steele (MLS '81), the Lilly Interim Dean of University Libraries. Pat has been with the Indiana University Libraries since 1975, serving in a variety of capacities including Head of the SLIS Library. She is a member of the Indiana State Library and Historical Board (2000-2007) and has twice been President of the Indiana Library Federation. She is a member of the Monroe County Public Library Board of Trustees, and served as its past President.

As stated on the Chi Chapter Web page, "The Chi Chapter Service Award is presented to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the library and information science profession or its goals." The Award has been given, usually on an annual basis, since the late 1970s. Previous winners include: Sara Laughlin, Mary Popp, Steve Harter, Herbert S. White, and Robert M. Knight.

The Award will be presented at the Chi Chapter Awards and Initiation Ceremony on Friday, April 27, from 10:00 to 11:30 a.m., with refreshments beginning at 9:30 a.m., in SLIS, Wells Library, Room 030 (the SLIS Commons Classroom). Pat will speak about her wide-ranging career. All are welcome.

[From Thomas Nisonger]

Posted April 23, 2007