SICE faculty honored with teaching awards

Four students smiling

Six faculty members of the School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering have been recognized with the Indiana University Trustees Teaching Award.

The Trustees Teaching Award honors faculty members who have made a positive impact on learning through the direct teaching of students. They were nominated by each program for their teaching, research, and service to the school.

“Our faculty takes a lot of pride in providing the very best education possible by serving as mentors as well as teachers,” said Raj Acharya, dean of SICE. “The faculty members recognized with the Trustees Teaching Award serve as examples of the kind of hard work and drive that is helping our students discover their tomorrow, and we couldn’t be more pleased that they have been selected.”

Honorees include Assistant Professor of Information Science Devan Donaldson, Assistant Professor of Computer Science Feng Qian, Associate Professor of Computer Science Gregory Rawlins, Senior Lecturer Dan Richert, Associate Professor of Informatics Selma Sabanovic, and Professor and Associate Chair of Intelligent Systems Engineering Martin Swany.

Six other faculty members were awarded a Student Learning Analytics Fellowship, which honors scholars interested in using analytical data to further student achievement and success both within and across programs, departments, and schools. The award is open to all full-time faculty regardless of rank.

Among those honored include Adjunct Associate Professor of Information and Library Science Andrew Asher, Senior Lecturer of Informatics Nina Onesti, Lecturer in Informatics Logan Paul, Research Scientist for the Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science (CNeTS) Center Olga Scrivner, Assistant Professor in computer science Chung-Chieh Shan, and Assistant Professor in computer science Sam Tobin-Hochstadt.

"The application of data-driven methods to advance education is a cutting-edge opportunity for which SICE has great expertise,” Executive Associate Dean David Leake said. “I'm delighted the Student Learning Analytics Fellowship program recognized some of the innovative contributions of our faculty and their impact on our students."

Media Contact

Ken Bikoff
Communications Specialist
Phone: (812) 856-6908