SoIC announces faculty promotions

SoIC Logo

Raj Acharya, dean of the School of Informatics and Computing, announced a host of faculty promotions that occurred during the 2016-17 school year.

A total of 10 faculty members received promotions, including three who received tenure.

“We are thrilled to reward so many faculty members with well-deserved promotions,” Acharya said. “These faculty are focused on a broad range of research specialties, and their promotions underscore the incredible breadth of our School, which is certainly one of the broadest Schools of its type in the nation.”

Six faculty members received promotions from associate professor to full professor. They include Professor of Informatics Jeff Bardzell, Professor of Informatics Kay Connelly, Professor of Informatics Ying Ding, Professor of Information Science Pnina Fichman, Professor of Informatics Alessandro Flammini, and Professor of Computer Science Esfandiar Haghverdi. Bardzell is also the director of the Human Computer Interaction/design program at SoIC, Connelly is the director of the Proactive Health Informatics program, Fichman is the director of the Rob Kling Center for Social Informatics, and Haghverdi is executive associate dean for academic affairs.

Three other faculty members received tenure and a promotion to associate professor. They include Associate Professor of Information Science Xiaozhong Liu, Associate Professor of Computer Science Ryan Newton, and Associate Professor Filippo Radicchi.

Dan Richert was also promoted from lecturer to senior lecturer.

“We are delighted to see so many faculty advance in their careers through outstanding research, teaching, and service,” said David Leake, executive assistant dean of SoIC. “These promotions bode well for the future of SoIC, the great ongoing impact of SoIC research, and the many students who will come here from across Indiana and around the world.”

Media Contact

Ken Bikoff
Communications Specialist
Phone: (812) 856-6908